Sunday, 13 March 2016

Summary of Framework Terms all in one place

Also see my pages on: Coming Up To Speed with The Open Source World and some of its players
and: Testing Methodology Summary

  • TOGAF - The Open Group Architecture Framework, - a well-documented body of knowledge comprising a detailed method and a set of supporting tools for developing enterprise architectures. (Not purely limited to Information Technology)
  • COSCO - Committee of Sponsoring Organisations (COSO) - enterprise risk management (ERM) model has become a widely-accepted framework for organisations to use.
  • ITIL (Information Technology Infrastructure Library) - is a best practice framework for ITSM, made up of:
    • ITIL Service Strategy ›
      helps organizations understand the merits of using a market-driven approach made up of
      • service portfolio management 
      • financial management for IT services 
      • demand management 
      • business relationship management 
      • strategy management for IT services
    • ITIL Service Design ›
      provides a holistic design approach to help an organization deliver better services.The five key aspects of Service Design are:
      • Designing the service solution
      • Management information systems and tools
      • Technology
      • Processes
      • Measurements and metrics
    • ITIL Service Transition ›
      helps plan and manage the change of state of a service in its lifecycle. Managing risk for new, changed and retired services protects the product environment.
    • ITIL Service Operation ›
      encompasses the day-to-day activities, processes, and infrastructure responsible for delivering value to the business through technology.
      The five key aspects of Service Design are:
    • Continual Service Improvement ›
      (CSI) uses a metrics-driven approach to identifying opportunities for improvement and to measure the impact of improvement efforts.
  • ITSM (IT Service Management) - IT Service Management is a general term that describes a strategic approach for designing, delivering, managing and improving the way information technology (IT) is used within an organization. 
  • AGILE - software development refers to a group of software development methodologies based on iterative development, where requirements and solutions evolve through collaboration between self-organizing cross-functional teams.
    • scrum - Scrum is a subset of Agile. It is a lightweight process framework for agile development, and the most widely-used one. A Scrum process is distinguished from other agile processes by specific concepts and practices, divided into the three categories of 
      • Roles, 
      • Artifacts, and 
      • Time Boxes.
    • sprint - (or iteration) is the basic unit of development in scrum.
      The sprint is a timeboxed effort; that is, it is restricted to a specific duration
    • epic - captures a large body of work. It is essentially a large user story that can be broken down into a number of smaller stories. It may take several sprints to complete an epic
    •  user story - a tool used to capture a description of a software feature from an end-user perspective.
  • Test-driven development (TDD) is a software development process that relies on the repetition of a very short development cycle: first the developer writes an (initially failing) automated test case that defines a desired improvement or new function, then produces the minimum amount of code to pass that test, and finally refactors the new code to acceptable standards 
  • Behavior-driven development combines the general techniques and principles of TDD with ideas from domain-driven design and object-oriented analysis and design to provide software development and management teams with shared tools and a shared process to collaborate on software development

No comments: